Skip to content
background image background image

56th NCGA Four-Ball Championship

May 12- 14 | Spyglass Hill 


The NCGA Four-Ball Championship began in 1967 at Spyglass Hill golf course and has been played at the Robert Trent Jones layout ever since.  The 54-hole competition consists of two-man teams in which both players play their own ball and the lowest score of the two is counted on each hole.

Only five teams have ever won the event more than once, with Tom Culligan III and Dan James (1968/1975), Casey Boyns and Joey Ferrari (1994/1996), Darryl Donovan and Randy Haag (2000/2010), Ryan Sloane and Taylor Travis (2008-2009) and Danny Paniccia and Mike Stieler (2013/2014). Haag has won the event a record four times as an individual, playing with Donovan (2000, 2010) and Bob Blomberg (1987, 1993).

The lowest 18-hole score ever posted is an 11-under 61 shot by 2021 champs Ethan Farnam and Ethan Ashbrook. The previous low was 62 by RC Orr and Scott Roak (2011), Brett Viboch and Bobby Bucey (2016) and Nick Moore and Matt Cohn (2016).  The lowest 54-hole total of 195 was recorded in 2016 by Bobby Bucey and Brett Viboch. 2017 champs Cole Nygren and Grady Smith won by a record 10-strokes.

Last Year's Champions

2022 champions Alex Chin and Jalen Griffin 

NCGA Four-Ball Championship


750 x 580-1


Brett Viboch and Bobby Bucey got the warm-up for Winged Foot they wanted and picked up some gifts for their moms along the way.

A day after carding a championship record-tying 10-under 62, Viboch and Bucey were again in a groove, posting an 8-under 64 to win the 50th NCGA Four-Ball Championship by five strokes on a beautiful Mother’s Day at Spyglass Hill.


Immediately after the conclusion of Sunday’s final round, Cole Nygren got a phone call from his mother.

“She must’ve seen the scores posted online,” Nygren said with a smile.

Stephanie Smith, meanwhile, had earlier told her son Grady. ‘What I want for Mother’s Day is for you to win.”



effrey Yamaguchi and Michael Jura were clutch when it mattered the most. The CSU-Stanislaus teammates played their last four holes at 2-under en route to a  final round 3-under 69 to win the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship by a shot over the runner-up team of Randy Haag and Jason Anthony on a breezy Sunday at par-72 Spyglass Hill. While they’ve both won NCGA junior events, it was the first time Yamaguchi and Jura have won an NCGA championship


A pair of Tigers came up the biggest when it counted the most. University of Pacific seniors and Youth on Course alums Austin Fox and Casey Scott came roaring out of the gates and never looked back, posting a final round 8-under 64 Sunday to capture the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship at par-72 Spyglass Hill. 


Cancelled COVID-19 


Just moments after their score officially posted, St. Mary’s teammates Ethan Ashbrook and Ethan Farnam received a text from Gaels head coach Scott Hardy. “Talk about having a great day. Great playing!” the text from Hardy read. On what was a great day for St. Mary’s golf, Ashbrook and Farnam were simply lights out. The two, who live together, would shoot a championship record 11-under 61 Sunday at Spyglass Hill to come in at 19-under 197,


Not long after the final group came in to make things official, Alex Chin shared a celebratory moment with his mom and grandmother. Jalen Griffin, meanwhile stepped away to call his mom. The pair, who’ve been connected by University of San Francisco the last few years, delivered a special Mother’s Day gift, getting the win. 


Past Champions

Year Winner Score
2022 Jalen Griffin and Alex Chin  67-68-63-198
2021 Ethan Farnam and Ethan Ashbrook 70-66-61-197
2020 COVID-19
2019 Austin Fox and Casey Scott 68-66-64-198
2018 Jeffrey Yamaguchi and Michael Jura  69-67-69-205
2017 Cole Nygren and Grady Smith 64-66-68-198
2016 Bobby Bucey and Brett Viboch  69-62-64-195

More Past Champions

background image

Join the NCGA

Providing benefits and services to:

members-icon 185,000+ Members
glof-clubs-icon 1,400+ Golf Clubs