Skip to content
background image background image

14th NCGA Super Senior Championship

October 9-10 | TBD


The Super Senior Championship was created to give golfers 65 and older their own championship. The first championship was held in 2010 with Gene Ackerman winning the inaugural event, firing a 36-hole score of 147 at Merced GCC. The championship is a 400-point event for the Senior Player of the Year race. Dennis Younglove set the single round championship record in 2014, shooting a 5-under 67 at Valley Hi CC. 2016 winner Chuck Richesin set the 36-hole scoring record of 139. There is also a Legends champion for players 75-plus.

Last Year’s Winner


750 x 580


Del Rio Golf and Country Club member Jeff Burda announced his arrival to the NCGA Super Senior ranks with a victory.

Burda, who turned 65 in March, shot a final round 3-under 69 Tuesday at par-72 San Luis Obispo CC to win.


Monterey Peninsula Country Club member Frank Pieper already had an NCGA Super Senior Amateur Match Play title under his belt. In fact, he had two.

Now, he’s also got a stroke play crown.


New season, but familiar results.

Jeff Burda, the 2020 NCGA Super Senior Player of the Year, shot a final round 1-under 70 Wednesday at Poppy Hills Golf Course to come from behind and win the annual NCGA Super Senior Championship.


Rich Gleghorn found himself being tested by three brutes in the finale of the annual NCGA Super Senior Championship. A strong field, gusty winds and a challenging course.

The 69-year-old Santa Cruz took them all on and came out on top.


At the time a stroke behind co-leaders Joey Ferrari and Jim Knoll, Mike Staskus arrived at the par-5 17th hole at Los Altos Country Club knowing he needed to make a birdie.

He'd push his drive to the right but was able to land his second shot pin-high, leaving him a 60-foot chip for eagle.


Past Champions

Year Winner Score
2022 Mike Staskus at Los Altos CC  70-72--142
2021 Rich Gleghorn at Los Altos CC     73-73–146
2020 Jeff Burda at Poppy Hills     74-70–144
2019 Frank Pieper at Merced GCC 68-72–140
2018 Jeff Burda at San Luis Obispo CC     71-69–140
2017 Gary Vanier at San Luis Obispo CC     70-73–143
2016 Chuck Richesin at Valley Hi CC     71-68–139
2015 Gary Vanier at Valley Hi CC     71-70–141
2014 Herb Jensen at Valley Hi CC     74-70–144
2013 Ron Johnson at Valley Hi CC     74-73–147
2012 Rob Thompson at Valley Hi CC     74-70–144

More Past Champions

background image

Join the NCGA

Providing benefits and services to:

members-icon 185,000+ Members
glof-clubs-icon 1,400+ Golf Clubs